Vancouver Board of Education

School District No. 39 BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES 1580 West Broadway Vancouver, B.C. V6J 5K8 Telephone: 604-713-5000 Fax: 604-713-5049

February 20, 2015

Mayors Council on Regional Transportation c/o TransLink Offices Suite 1600 – 4720 Kingsway Burnaby, BC, V5H 4N2

On behalf of myself as Chair, and by the unanimous resolution of our Trustees, I am writing to express the support of the Vancouver Board of Education (VBE) for a "Yes" vote in the upcoming transportation referendum.

The VBE provides instruction to 29,000 elementary students, 26,000 secondary students, and 2,500 adult education students. This is achieved through the efforts of more than 7,000 full-time and part-time staff. All of these students and staff commute regularly to and from schools.

Transportation improvements proposed through the Mayor's Council Plan will benefit our school communities. This includes elementary students seeking more active travel options within catchments, secondary students commuting across the city to access our numerous specialty programs, and our staff - many of whom commute from across the Metro Vancouver region.

Within our District and with our school communities we are promoting the referendum, publicizing the voting period, encouraging our staff and parent communities to participate in the referendum, and promoting the Board's position through our website and social media channels.

In support of this referendum we encourage the "Yes" campaign to list the VBE as a supporter of a Yes vote.

Sincerely,

Richardson

Christopher Richardson Chairperson

cc: VBE Trustees All Metro Vancouver School Boards Steve Cardwell, Superintendent of Schools Rick Krowchuk, Secretary Treasurer

> Board of School Trustees: Christopher Richardson – Chairperson Janet Fraser – Vice-Chairperson Joy Alexander Patti Bacchus Fraser Ballantyne Mike Lombardi Penny Noble Stacy Robertson Allan Wong

Mayors Council on Regional Transportation c/o TransLink Offices Suite 1600 – 4720 Kingsway Burnaby, BC V5H 4N2

Ms Laura Dixon Board Chair, SD 037 4585 Harvest Dr Delta, BC V4K 5B4

Ms Jonina Campbell Board Chair, SD 040 1001 Columbia St New Westminster, BC V3M 1C4

Mrs Judy Shirra Board Chair, SD 043 550 Poirier St Coquitlam, BC V3J 6A7

Ms Cindy Dekker Board Chair, SD 045 1075 21st St West Vancouver, BC V7V 4A9

M Roger Hebert President, Board of Regional Trustees, SD 093 180 10200 Shellbridge Way Richmond, BC V6X 2W7 Mr Shawn Wilson Board Chair, SD 036 14033 92nd Ave Surrey, BC V3V 0B7

Dr Eric Yung Board Chair, SD 038 7811 Granville Ave Richmond, BC V6Y 3E3

Mr Ron Burton Board Chair, SD 041 5325 Kincaid St Burnaby, BC V5G 1W2

Mr Barry Forward Board Chair, SD 044 2121 Lonsdale Ave North Vancouver, BC V7M 2K6

Mr Rick Price Board Chair, SD 048 PO Box 250 Squamish, BC V8B 0A2